Sunday, August 8, 2010

Months of Bahá'í Calendar

Bahá'í Calendar

Bahá'í calendar or calendar Badi ', the name of the Apostle of Bahá'u'lláh which is dedicated, is the solar calendar consisting of nineteen months of nineteen days each, plus four intercalary days (five in leap years ) used by the Bahai religious followers find by Bahá'u'lláh.

The year begins March 21 with the Feast of Naw-Ruz. The counting of the years beginning from 1844, so March 21, 2009 began the year 166 Bahá'í Era. In the tradition of the Baha'i day begins at sunset the previous evening.


The Bahá'í calendar months, each of nineteen days, are nineteen. The period of fasting in the month 'Ala', runs from March 2 to March 20 of the Gregorian calendar and is preceded by intercalary days are called Ayyam-i-Há.

There are four intercalary days for normal years and five leap.

The introduction of intercalary days marked an important break with Islam because the Islamic calendar are prohibited.

The month of fasting is followed by the Naw-Ruz, the New Year, which coicide with the spring equinox. The Baha'i calendar is synchronized with the Gregorian calendar and thus leap years coincide.

See Also : lebaran, hari raya, ramadan gift

No comments:

Post a Comment